Stamps inscribed 'Leeward Islands'

1890 - 1956. Leeward Islands stamps used in all parts of the colony, from 1903 alongside separate issues for each island (group). Also see Antigua and/or Barbuda, the British Virgin Islands, Montserrat, Saint Kitts and/or Nevis, Anguilla, and (to 1940) Dominica.

From 1890: 1 Pound = 20 Shillings, 1 Shilling = 12 Pence
From 1950: 1 British West Indian Dollar = 100 Cents [= 4 Shillings, 2 Pence]
Checklists > Countries > Leeward IslandsHeraldic Cats

List status: Contains all items known to the webmaster.
If you have corrections or addendae to this list, please send an e-mail to checklists@catstamps.org.


Issue Item code Item type Face value Remarks SC

1951 Inauguration of the University of the West Indies

Joint issue with Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, British Honduras, British Virgin Islands, Dominica,
, Guyana, Jamaica, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and Trinidad and Tobago

LWI19510216 ST 0_03 Stamp 0.03 Heraldic Lion
Lion Passant Guardant
MI 114

Compiled by Geir Arveng with valuable information received from Elisabeth Hallsjö.
Latest update: 29 November, 2015